driving on shabbos

Today, looking out my window, which overlooks an important Jerusalem intersection, I asked myself (today was Shabbat), “How can I convince people not to drive on Shabbat?” Thank goodness traffic is much lighter on Shabbat than weekdays, but still… 

The best short answer I could come up with is:

If you drive on Shabbat, you make yourself into a car. Or at least into the driver of a car. But your destiny is to be much more than a car, or even a driver. My dear fellow Jew, why do you degrade yourself like that on the day when you should be soaring like a bird?

Leave a Reply

