Modesty

posted by Chanoch Ne’eman Hoshana Rabba 5775 Jerusalem (copyright)

Modesty, in all its aspects, is so important. The older I get, the more I appreciate it. It is many sided. How much mixed society do you endorse? How do you dress? How do you speak?

I love being among modest people. People with many levels to their personalities. People who see the dignity of modesty, of wholesome living. Of refinement and good taste.

Even writing about this is hard. People think you are neurotic. But I personally think it is the immodest who are incomplete.

I can live with dignity and holiness, as a full human being, when I am among modest people.

Do you ever feel affinity to Isaiah’s cry, “Woe unto me, that I am of unclean lips, and dwell among a people of unclean lips!”

We need to be careful about what we say, because our Sages say the prophet was punished for saying that, even if it was true.

But in my heart I often want to cry out, “Woe is me, that I dwell among a people, some of whom lack modesty and dignity!”

What can we do? Just try to keep being part of the solution and not part of the problem. Patience can overcome all obstacles.

Leave a Reply

