went for hike yesterday

Chanoch Ne’eman, Shlishi, 3 Kislev 5775 Jerusalem

You have got to do it once in a while. Even if it is not on your weekly schedule. It was raining on Sunday and Monday, so I thought the wadis would be full of water, and I wanted to see them. Particularly one wadi which I had hiked in summer, in Kedoshim Forest, not far from Shimshon Junction. So I left home with raincoat and backpack at 11 am, at 12 I alighted from the bus at Shimshon Junction, 15 minutes later I was on the trail.

I was disappointed. The wadi was not running. It was just damp. Oh well. At least I had solitude; I saw no other hikers for the two plus hours I was out. I put my feet in a puddle which I had hoped would be part of the raging torrent. Some IAF jets were making noise overheard, unseen in the clouds.

The light rain was making ripples in the small puddle. They looked like a silent firework display. They suggested newness.

I took advantage of the solitude to practice my singing and pray for things important to me.

2 Responses to “went for hike yesterday”

  1. Sarah M Says:

    I’m glad you had a good hike despite the lack of water. Is this the normal time of year for the wadi to fill?
    I haven’t been hiking in years. I used to love the solitude of sitting on top of a mountain at home with no human noise only the sound of the wind. I did get to walk all through Portland when I was there last week but it’s not the same as being out surrounded by nature.

    • Hanoch Ne'eman Says:

      Of course this is the time for the wadis to fill – the rainy season. It only rains in Israel in the winter.

      On Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 1:24 PM, t4two.wordpress.com wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

