Elie Wiesel

27 Sivan 5776 Jerusalem Hanoch Ne’eman

The Lord gives, and the Lord takes away.

Was saddened to learn this night of the passing of the great Jew, Elie Wiesel, of blessed memory.

In college, I studied his books on the Hasidic masters, and also read Night as part of my European History 2 class.

My parents gave me an autographed copy of his auto-biography, All Rivers Run Into the Sea. In it he said that he responds to all people who write to him. I wrote him, and he responded.

I love people like that.

I highly encourage you to read his works about the Hasidic Masters, such as Somewhere a Master.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

