hold that channel!

25 Nisan 5777 Hanoch Ne’eman Scottsdale AZ

A few days before Pesach, I had an experience which was a little out of the ordinary. I felt that perhaps my Uncle Asher, who passed away this summer, was communicating to us through my Father. My Father has Parkinson’s. He can talk, but a lot of the time he naps. He was sitting at the table for a long time, like an hour and a half, and looking at a siddur. He was looking at different things, like the shabbos eve song, Kol Mekadesh. He was not falling asleep, which was unusual. At one point he calls me over and says, pointing to the words in Hebrew, “how do you read this word? He starts reading himself, pointing to words, but saying something completely different; like aramaic words, ending in “sah” and “tah”. Never saw him do anything like that before.

He goes on with his quiet study, and says later, “I don’t know, most of this is just nonsense (waving his hand), but it seems like there is some secret message in it.” That was a very Uncle Asher type thing to say, and the way he said it. Uncle Asher would study things for a long time like that. He was a scientist who tried to solve mysteries.

Later, my Father was sitting eyes closed, chin down at the table, when he lifts his head (eyes still closed) and says (talking to no one), “What’s that letter? Aleph? And what comes next, Tee?  no…”

And a bit later he says, “I don’t know why you are (doing/saying?) that, especially after you fought so savagely for this…(pauses) channel… we are both using.”

I am saying kaddish for Uncle Asher. This same day (I think it was the Yom Hamishi before Pesach) I did not get to the minyan in the morning, and then didn’t go in the afternoon/evening either.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

